nitaliblogs

Mulberry Cake

Mulberries..

Mulberries..

Mulberry Cake batter

Mulberry Cake batter

Mulberry Cake, straight out of the oven..

Mulberry Cake, straight out of the oven..

Mulberry Cake

Mulberry Cake

As a child, I was quite a fussy eater and I am sure my mother had a very difficult time getting me to eat properly. In an effort to make me have the necessary nutrients, she resorted to something most mums do, start giving their kids protein and nutrient supplements mixed with milk! I hated that too, seriously…and because that health drink used to be strawberry flavored, my mind associated all fruits in the berry family with that medicine like health drink and I hated all those fruits too..

Until one of my father’s cousins, invented a brilliant competitive kind of game, to keep my brother and me entertained while she was watching over us; at the end of which we both got mulberries, freshly picked from a tree in their apartment complex, as a reward and also a consolation prize. I finally overcame my hatred for berries that day, and I do eat all of them now, but Mulberries will always remain my favorites for that delectable sweetness, lovely black-purple color and warm childhood memories.

Yet another quick trip to Mahabaleshwar with my husband a couple of weeks back, and I bought Mulberries like there was no tomorrow. My husband asked if we could make a dessert out of them, and although I had never baked with mulberries before, I thought they would go well in a basic vanilla cake. It turned out quite nice and moist, and the mulberries which had softened with the heat, yet retained their form gave a nice burst of flavor in between.

Unfortunately we don’t meet very often now, but Yogi Bear (that was the nickname we gave our Aunt), this one is dedicated to you!

Ingredients:

1 cup butter;

3/4th cup powdered sugar;

3 eggs;

1 ½ cup all purpose flour (Maida);

250 gm Mulberries;

1tsp Vanilla extract;

1tsp baking powder.

Method:

  1. Wash the mulberries properly under running water and allow them to drain well in a colander.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together in a bowl, with a hand blender until it forms a homogenous mixture.
  3. Break 3 eggs into the butter-sugar mixture and beat with the blender until the mixture is pale in color, and light and fluffy.
  4. Add the vanilla extract and a handful of mulberries (for a darker color) to the mixture and continue beating for a couple of minutes.
  5. Sift together all purpose flour and baking powder in another bowl. Then slowly fold in the flour into the egg-butter-sugar mixture, with gentle but firm strokes and ensure that no lumps remain.
  6. Now fold in the remaining mulberries into the cake mixture until they are mixed uniformly.
  7. Pour the cake mixture in a tin lined with baking paper and greased with oil, or a tin that is greased and dusted with flour.
  8. Place the tin in a pre-heated oven and bake at 200°C for 20-25 minutes, or until the toothpick comes clear.
  9. Cool the cake of a wire rack and serve with tea or coffee.
4 comments on “Mulberry Cake

  1. Lucia and Katie
    May 7, 2015

    Hi! My friend and I just created our first blog and we were wanting to create a good follower base. If you could help us, by commenting on our blog or following us, that would be very much appreciated. Thank you! 🙂 PS this looks amazing!

    Like

    • nitali04
      May 7, 2015

      Thank you for stopping by my blog..Wish you great success with your new blog..

      Like

  2. skd
    May 10, 2015

    Mulberries are very much in season and your cakes looks spectacular. I will try to make it soon. Thanks for sharing ☺

    Like

    • nitali04
      May 10, 2015

      I am glad you found it interesting..It is always fun to cook with seasonal produce 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 7, 2015 by in Recipes and tagged , , , .
