nitaliblogs

Methamba (Maharashtrian style raw Mango relish)

The raw mangoes..

The raw mangoes..

Methamba..

Methamba..

I have been very irregular with the blog for the past month or so; for it was one of those times when there was fair bit of work pressure and I was finding it a bit difficult to balance work and home. I had initially planned on posting a few mango recipes, with the onset of summers and availability of the best of season’s mangoes; but obviously that took a beating amongst other things.

Fortunately for me, last week I got some amazing raw mangoes from both my parents’ and in-laws’ gardens. The naturally ripened ones from the home gardens are on their way as well and I am one happy soul. I made some usual pickles and Murabbas with most of the raw mangoes I had; but then I saved some to make this Methamba that I enjoy the most.

I used raw alphonso mangoes to make the relish, but you could use any other variety; you may just have to adjust the sweetness accordingly; these ones are really sour, so needed more jaggery to balance it out; you may use your judgement depending on the variety you are using. The end result is a lovely sweet and sour relish, with the fenugreek seeds adding just enough bitterness to bring everything together cohesively.

Ingredients:

2 raw Mangoes (kairi);

½ tbsp oil;

1/4th tsp mustard seeds (mohri/rai);

1tsp fenugreek seeds (methi dana);

10-12 Curry leaves (Kadhi Patta);

4-5 dried red chilis (sookhi lal mirch);

1 tbsp chopped jaggery (gul/gudh) or sugar;

1/4th tsp turmeric powder (haldi);

Salt to taste;

Red chilli powder (optional, if the dried chilies you are using, aren’t hot enough).

Method:

  1. Peel the raw mangoes and chop into 1cm pieces.
  2. Heat the oil in a pan until it reaches a smoking temperature. Add the mustard seeds and allow them to crackle.
  3. Now lower the heat and add Fenugreek seeds, curry leaves, dried red chilies, asafetida and turmeric to it (in that order). Mix with a spatula.
  4. Add the chopped mangoes to the pan and toss well. Cook on low flame for 2-3 minutes to allow the mangoes to caramelize slightly.
  5. Then, add 1cup water to the pan and cover and cook on low flame until the mangoes are soft and most of the water has evaporated.
  6. Add salt, jaggery (or sugar) and chili powder (optional) to the pan and cook for a further 2-3 minutes.
  7. Can be served hot or cold as a relish or chutney with chapattis or parathas, dal-rice or even with sandwiches. Stays in the refrigerator for approximately one week.
7 comments on “Methamba (Maharashtrian style raw Mango relish)

  1. Aruna Panangipally
    June 4, 2015

    Looks so delicious and is tempting me, Nitali. I had quite forgotten about this recipe. Thank you for reminding me about it. 🙂

    Like

  2. For New Cooks
    June 4, 2015

    Hi, I happened to visit this and must say, this is on my “try this first” list. interesting recipe! Thanks for posting.

    Like

    • nitali04
      June 5, 2015

      Thank you, I am glad you found it interesting..Please let me know how it turned out 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Methamba – A Sweet, Spicy, Tangy Raw Mango and Fenugreek Chutney from Maharashtra | ãhãram

    • nitali04
      June 16, 2015

      Thank you Aruna..and I love the color of your Methamba..Quite interesting that you use a combination of sugar and jaggery, its usually one of the two for me…I’ll try this way sometime..

      Like

Leave a Reply

